Advisory Board

The DCSAFF Advisory Board brings together some of the most accomplished and experienced professionals from across the film industry.

shyam-benegalShyam Benegal

Shyam Benegal is an Indian director and Screenwriter. With his first four feature films Ankur (1973), Nishant (1975), Manthan (1976) and Bhumika (1977) he created a new genre, which has now come to be called the “middle cinema” in India. He has expressed dislike of the term, preferring his work to be called New or Alternate cinema. He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1976 and the Padma Bhushan in 1991. On 8 August 2007, Benegal was awarded the highest award in Indian cinema for lifetime achievement, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2005. He has won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Hindi seven times.

Suman Ghosh

Trained at Cornell University (New York), Suman Ghosh is a National Award winning filmmaker with 4 feature films to his credit.  His debut film “Footsteps” (starring Soumitra Chatterjee and Nandita Das) won 2 National Awards in 2008. It was shown at numerous film festivals including: Vancouver, Karlovy Vary and IAAC New York. His second feature film “Dwando” (starring Soumitra Chatterjee), was a part of the Indian Panorama section of the International Film Festival of India, Goa in 2009. His next film “Nobel Thief” (starring Mithun Chakraborty) had its world premiere at the Busan International Film Festival in South Korea and was an official selection at the BFI, London Film Festival. The film received the “Best Indian Film” award at the Bengaluru International Film Festival in 2012. His latest feature film “Shyamal Uncle Turns off the Lights” had its world premiere at the Busan International Film Festival and had its North American Premiere at the MoMA, NY. It won the “Outstanding International Feature Award” at the ReelWorld Film festival in Toronto.

Rajit Kapur

Literally a man of many parts, Rajit Kapur is an artiste recognized for his extensive contributions to the stage, screen and television. He started his career in feature films with Shyam Benegal’s critically acclaimed, Suraj ka Satwan Ghoda in 1992. He has since, starred in virtually all of Benegal’s films, including Making of the Mahatma, for which he won the National Award for Best Actor in 1995. He has also earned the Kerala State Award for Best Actor for Agni Sakshi. Other notable film credits include: Ghulam, Sardari Begum, Zubeida, Well Done Abba and Charachar. Kapur’s extensive stage work includes: Larins Sahib, Love Letters, Are There Tigers in the Congo?, Mister Behram, Six Degrees of Separation, Class of ‘84, Pune Highway, Me Kash and Cruise and Girish Karnad’s Flowers.

Christina Marouda

Christina Marouda is the founder and Chair of the Board of the Indian Film Festival of Los Angeles (IFFLA), where over the last 12 years she has created, developed and expanded the film festival into a creative and business portal between the Indian and United States entertainment industries. She has developed key relationships with governmental, business and charitable organizations including the City of Los Angeles Cultural Affairs Department, SAG-AFTRA, Hollywood Foreign Press Association, as well as with executives at major studios including, Walt Disney, Sony Pictures Entertainment and Fox.